A Few From Skansen, Stockholm

Skansen Stockholm sweden Reindeer

I can’t believe that it has been just over a year since our trip to Sweden and I am only now sharing my photos with you. One of the highlights of my trip had to be visiting Skansen in Stockholm, the worlds largest outdoor museum showcasing the history of Sweden, its traditions and cultures.

Even now I feel a sense of excitement when I think of this place! The day of our visit it was freezing cold and everything was frosted but it just added to the wonder of the museum. Towards the evening the staff, in their traditional attire, opened up the christmas market stalls and the smells were simply divine, aromas of swedish sweets and Glogg filled the air, it was heavenly!

Of course my main reason for wanting to visit Skansen was the zoo, which is committed to exhibiting primarily Scandinavian animals, including wolves, seals, elk, Lynx, brown bears and wolverines, some of which I managed to get shots of here. This was also the first time I had seen a red squirrel in the wild and to say I was excited would have been an understatement, although I was disappointed to not get a decent shot of the little critter.

As we neared the end of our visit, I noticed a man stood in the middle of the grounds with his hand outstretched in front of him feeding a tiny Blue Tit. The awe must have been etched on my face as when the bird had finished he walked over to me, took my hand and filled it with the same seeds. Within seconds there were tiny Blue Tits all around me, each taking turns to feed from my hand. After a few minutes I felt something begin to crawl up my leg, as I looked done I was in complete amazement as the little red squirrel I had spotted earlier hurried to the seeds in my palm and sat calmly on my arm as he had his fill. I never did get a picture of him though 🙂

Skansen Stockholm sweden Great Gray Owl Skansen Stockholm sweden hen OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Skansen Stockholm sweden Goats Skansen Stockholm sweden Fox Skansen Stockholm sweden seal Skansen Stockholm sweden Heron Skansen Stockholm sweden Wolf(Please excuse my rather blurry picture of a wolf, but he was just so beautiful, I couldn’t not share him with you!)

Any of you been to Skansen? I would love to know what you thought? Sweden really is one of the most beautiful countries I have ever had the pleasure of visiting and I will be making it my mission to get back there….one day!

Leave a Reply

